Friday, October 30, 2009

10 Week Belly Pic and How big is baby?

How far along? 10 weeks
Total weight gain: Minus 5.5, I'm finally gaining some back
Maternity clothes? None
Sleep: Great
Best moment this week: Hearing baby's heartbeat.
Movement: Nothing yet.
Gender: My intuition says girl.
Labor Signs: None
Cravings: Icees, slushies, popsicles, ice cold fruity stuff
Belly Button in or out? In
What I miss: Sex.
Weekly Wisdom: Be as candid as possible with your doctor, it's not the first time anyone's ever asked her when sex will be safe again.
Milestones: Hearing the heartbeat


With bones and cartilage starting to form and vital organs beginning to function, baby is making major progress. Body length will almost double in the next three weeks, and arm joints are now working. (Soon, legs will too.)

Thursday, October 29, 2009

We get to see the baby again today...

Yay! I hope and pray we get to hear the heartbeat... I'm so excited!

Monday, October 26, 2009

I am getting over a cold...

Well Little Lobster, you have officially gone through your first illness in Momma's body. We've used tons of Mucinex, cough drops, CVS brand Delsym (don't buy it, it's disgusting), and nasal spray... now Momma just has a cough which drives Daddy crazy.

Last night Momma took her Zofran at around 4 like usual. By the time Daddy got home, I was so sick that I couldn't eat my dinner... I weighed myself this morning and I am officially down a total of 9 pounds since I found out you were on your way. 9 pounds! I'm 1 pound away from my goal Weight Watchers weight from this summer... 1 pound.

I couldn't sleep last night because I have this strange crampy pain on the left side of my lower abdomen. I keep telling myself that it's gas. Hopefully I'm right.

We go to the doctor on Thursday and see the little one! :)

Jennings and I think we've settled on a boy name. I'm not going to spill until I know for sure, we still can't come up with a girl name. He wants to be sure that I won't be able to shorten whatever name we come up with for a girl. He's just going to have to get over it.

Friday, October 23, 2009

9 Weeks! Eeeek! Belly Pic

How far along? 8 weeks
Total weight gain: Minus 7.5... seriously I'm 2.5 away from my goal weight from this summer... pregnancy may be the best diet ever... i kid.
Maternity clothes? BeBand somedays, other days I just don't button my pants
Sleep: This week, not so great. I've got a cold so I don't sleep well because I can't breathe.
Best moment this week: Honestly, the poop I took yesterday.
Movement: Nothing yet.
Gender: Back to girl.
Labor Signs: I spot at least once a week, it's getting old.
Cravings: Icees, slushies, popsicles, ice cold fruity stuff
Belly Button in or out? In
What I miss: Pooping regular sized turds.
Weekly Wisdom: Your doctor's office doesn't mind if you call and ask them if you can take Mucinex, nasal spray, cough drops, they'd rather you call than trust the internets.
Milestones: I'm torn between two. We now have a FETUS and I puked for the first time this week.




Your little embryo has now officially graduated to fetus-hood. Adding to the excitement, a Doppler ultrasound device might be able to pick up the beating heart. With basic physical structures in place and increasingly distinct facial features, baby is kind of starting to look like... well... a baby!

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Congratulations LL!

After bragging yesterday about not having to take any Zofran and feeling so well, I started to feel sick last night.

Congratulations LL, you finally made your momma throw up this morning. I hope you're happy with yourself.

Friday, October 16, 2009

Zofran!

Doctor is calling in Zofran today! Hopefully I'll be able to eat this weekend! :)

Holy Crap! 8 Weeks!


Your baby is growing like mad, putting on about a millimeter every day and continuing to straighten out in the trunk. Though you can't feel it yet, baby is moving those little arms, legs and (now only slightly) webbed fingers and toes like crazy.

8 Week Belly Pic

Not much has changed...

How far along? 8 weeks
Total weight gain: Minus 6
Maternity clothes? BeBand somedays, other days I just don't button my pants
Sleep: I wake up at least once to pee or thinking I'm going to puke.
Best moment this week: Finding out that SIL is expecting too.
Movement: I have these gas bubbles that I can feel in my lower abdomen, does that count?
Gender: I might be leaning towards boy now.
Labor Signs: Does bleeding count?
Cravings: I can't eat.
Belly Button in or out? In
What I miss: Watching TV at night with Jennings, I go to bed way early now.
Weekly Wisdom: Get your rest.
Milestones: I almost threw up this morning, gagged a lot, and prayed for puke, it just never came.

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Ugh...

I'm freaking bleeding again.

Seriously?!? Can I not have a normal end to the week, ever?

Morning sickness my foot!

Oh my gosh! Whoever named this symptom morning sickness was dead wrong. Sure, I'm sick in the morning, but I'm also sick at lunch, in the afternoon, in the evening, and it gets even worse when I go to bed. I can't sleep at night because of this feeling. I hate it.

I've heard stories of women who have morning sickness throughout their entire pregnancy. I told Jennings last night that if that happens to me I'm never having any other children. He can either adopt another or just be happy with one.

Monday, October 12, 2009

7 Week Belly Pic

A little late!

How far along? 7 weeks
Total weight gain: Minus 6
Maternity clothes? BeBand somedays, other days I just don't button my pants
Sleep: I wake up at least once to pee.
Best moment this week: MIL's reaction to the news.
Movement: None
Gender: Still thinking girl, but all the OWT's are pointing towards boy.
Labor Signs: Does bleeding count?
Cravings: I can't eat.
Belly Button in or out? In
What I miss: Watching TV at night with Jennings, I go to bed way early now.
Weekly Wisdom: Your motherly instinct kicks in early, especially when it comes to competition for your child ;-)
Milestones: Seeing LL's heartbeat and the little one in there :)

Wow lots to tell you!

Friday I was bleeding again. I came into work and did a parent conference during my planning, then I left.

I went home (crying the whole way) and finally got a call back from the doctor. I went in for another ultrasound and an injection of RhoGAM. Apparently, the just realized I'm O-... I could have told them, had they asked. Jennings also had his blood typed so hopefully I won't need another injection.

We did see baby, it's heartrate was 119.

Doctor put me on "couch-potato" mode. I was to be lazy all weekend (we all know I'm not so good at that).

Saturday night we went to my BIL's 30th birthday party. Afterwards we announced to Jennings' two brothers, their wives and my IL's that we're expecting. MIL jumped up and down like a kid on Christmas morning.

After seeing MIL's reaction I looked over at BIL's wife (we're pretty close) and she had a strange look on her face. After she left I told Jennings that I'd put money on her being pregnant.

Sunday we went to a family reunion. BIL's wife announced that she is in fact pregnant and is about a week behind me! It's going to be fun to have someone to share this with. I just hope we don't have our babies on the same day because we're not going to the same hospital!

I called my brother, sisters, and Jennings grandparents on the way home. Everyone seemed pretty happy.

Morning sickness has reared it's ugly head. Only I can't throw up. I woke up at 1 this morning with that nasty taste you get right before you throw up, but no matter what I did, I couldn't throw up. I can't help but think to myself that if I could throw up I'd feel so much better!

Saltines and ginger ale were my breakfast, they might be my lunch too. Ugh, have I ever mentioned that I cannot stand ginger ale?

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Latest Update

We told my parents on Sunday night.

Dad was speechless. Mom almost cried. Jennings said it was basically the same conversation they had when he told them he was going to propose to me.

Dad's still in shock and hardly talks to me about it. Mom keeps asking me how I'm feeling. It's sweet :)

I finally talked to the nurse at the doctor's office this morning. My beta doubled to 10734. I'm guessing that's not indicative of twins... Darn. Oh well... we'll love this little one to pieces and then have another :-D Yay for being pregnant twice.

The nurse also said sex is a no go for now. Jennings is very disappointed. Poor guy. I feel bad for him. Not that I've had any interest at all, but I do try to do for my man every now and again!

I also had a student diagnosed with H1N1 yesterday. The nurse said she wasn't sure how many vaccines they would be getting in, but to ask about it at my next appointment. Which isn't until the 29th.

Maybe I'll go to the health department before then...

Still no puke, but plenty of nausea. Ugh. If I could just throw up I think I'd feel better.

I'm also still down on weight. I can't eat as much as I used to. Now I can hardly finish a kid's meal without feeling like I'm going to throw up or like my food is backed up to the back of my mouth.

Oh yeah! We went to Target in High Point last night. I found a BeBand in my size... of course I'm rocking in today! :)

Saturday, October 3, 2009

Yesterday's Appointment

I got to see the yolk sac, baby's still too small to see or hear. Only one yolk so no twins.

My beta was 5600 yesterday and I should get results from today sometime soon. This nurse called me while I was at work yesterday and left a message to call her back. I called three times, left one message, and haven't heard back from her. I'm just assuming she was calling to tell me my numbers from yesterday but still, she should have called me back. That annoys me.

Doctor will do an ultrasound again in four weeks (she wanted two, but I couldn't work it around my work schedule). She said if I have any bleeding between now and then to call her immediately.

I can breathe again :)

Friday, October 2, 2009

6 Week Belly Pic!

How far along? 6 weeks
Total weight gain: I haven't weighed myself in a while.
Maternity clothes? Don't get me started on the whole BellaBand/BeBand fiasco... why does Target think that only small women get pregnant and need a BeBand?
Sleep: Great
Best moment this week: Having to tell my principal because of some spotting issues, luckily she understood.
Movement: None
Gender: Still thinking girl.
Labor Signs: Not a single one!
Cravings: None this week
Belly Button in or out? In
What I miss: Spending time with Jennings
Weekly Wisdom: Call your doctor if you suspect anything is wrong. They'll listen.
Milestones: I get to see LL on the ultrasound screen in about an hour! :)

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Switching OB/GYN's means switching the date of my first appointment...

I had always planned on delivering any babies I may have at Moses Cone Women's Hospital. It's where I was born, I know a lot of people who were born there, it may not be as great as Forsyth but it's closer to us and the differences are minimal as long as the baby is healthy.

When Jennings and I met, I discovered that his most recent serious ex, get that?, was a labor and delivery nurse at Women's. Greeeat. One day I'd be shoving his baby out my vag and she'd be on the other end. That just seemed weird to me. So I decided that when I got pregnant I'd deliver at High Point.

I made an appointment with an OB/GYN group in High Point and was set. Until last night when I looked at the virtual tours for both hospitals.

Seriously, look at the difference.
Women's High Point

Would you like a teeny, tiny delivery room and post-partum recovery room, or a huge one? Give me the huge one please!

Last night, Jennings and I discussed it. We decided that we could easily ask that his ex not be assigned to us. Surely she wouldn't be the only nurse there that day, and surely we wouldn't be the only people bringing a baby into the world at Women's, right? Right?

This morning I woke up feeling great about our new plan. Women's has a much better NICU should something be wrong with Little Lobster when the time comes. Wonderful.

Then I went to the bathroom, wiped, and lo and behold there was bright red blood on the toilet paper.

I almost broke down into tears right then and there.

I got dressed silently, I don't even know how I picked out what I wore today, but I was told that I looked cute so it must not have been too bad. I drove to work. Started getting stuff ready for school and then called Jennings. (You know, I had to give him a little time to sleep. Lucky guy gets to sleep a whole two hours longer than me.)

He barely said anything when I told him. I knew he could tell I was on the verge of tears.

I couldn't get a hold of anyone at what was going to be my new doctor's office til 8:15... you have no idea how long 30 minutes is when you're so scared. Finally, someone called me and suggested I not go to work, yeah okay. She then suggested that I talk to someone about getting me a sub, the doctor would not be in til 10.

So I went to the office, my principal was in a meeting, of course.

I went back to my room. Called Jennings sobbing. I couldn't get myself together.

I started writing sub plans (thank goodness for 1st block planning). Then went and spoke to my assistant principal. I just said, "I need to leave, what do I need to do?" Of course he asked what was up... I just kinda stumbled looking for a response and he said, "Are you sick?" Great! I'll tell him that... so I responded, "Uh, yeah, I'm sick."

The secretary was amazing, she got me someone ASAP and I went on my merry little way after starting my second block class.

On my way out the door, the doctor's office called and told me they wanted me for bloodwork (beta, Rh and blood type, etc) today and tomorrow they'll repeat the beta to see the change. I'll also have an ultrasound tomorrow. I doubt we'll hear the heartbeat, I almost hope we won't since Jennings won't be able to be there, but at least I get to meet my little one tomorrow.

As much as I wish I knew the moral of this story, I don't yet. Wait til tomorrow and maybe I'll have something for you.

I came home today and took a three hour nap. I don't now how I slept that long, but it was good.