Thursday, October 1, 2009

Switching OB/GYN's means switching the date of my first appointment...

I had always planned on delivering any babies I may have at Moses Cone Women's Hospital. It's where I was born, I know a lot of people who were born there, it may not be as great as Forsyth but it's closer to us and the differences are minimal as long as the baby is healthy.

When Jennings and I met, I discovered that his most recent serious ex, get that?, was a labor and delivery nurse at Women's. Greeeat. One day I'd be shoving his baby out my vag and she'd be on the other end. That just seemed weird to me. So I decided that when I got pregnant I'd deliver at High Point.

I made an appointment with an OB/GYN group in High Point and was set. Until last night when I looked at the virtual tours for both hospitals.

Seriously, look at the difference.
Women's High Point

Would you like a teeny, tiny delivery room and post-partum recovery room, or a huge one? Give me the huge one please!

Last night, Jennings and I discussed it. We decided that we could easily ask that his ex not be assigned to us. Surely she wouldn't be the only nurse there that day, and surely we wouldn't be the only people bringing a baby into the world at Women's, right? Right?

This morning I woke up feeling great about our new plan. Women's has a much better NICU should something be wrong with Little Lobster when the time comes. Wonderful.

Then I went to the bathroom, wiped, and lo and behold there was bright red blood on the toilet paper.

I almost broke down into tears right then and there.

I got dressed silently, I don't even know how I picked out what I wore today, but I was told that I looked cute so it must not have been too bad. I drove to work. Started getting stuff ready for school and then called Jennings. (You know, I had to give him a little time to sleep. Lucky guy gets to sleep a whole two hours longer than me.)

He barely said anything when I told him. I knew he could tell I was on the verge of tears.

I couldn't get a hold of anyone at what was going to be my new doctor's office til 8:15... you have no idea how long 30 minutes is when you're so scared. Finally, someone called me and suggested I not go to work, yeah okay. She then suggested that I talk to someone about getting me a sub, the doctor would not be in til 10.

So I went to the office, my principal was in a meeting, of course.

I went back to my room. Called Jennings sobbing. I couldn't get myself together.

I started writing sub plans (thank goodness for 1st block planning). Then went and spoke to my assistant principal. I just said, "I need to leave, what do I need to do?" Of course he asked what was up... I just kinda stumbled looking for a response and he said, "Are you sick?" Great! I'll tell him that... so I responded, "Uh, yeah, I'm sick."

The secretary was amazing, she got me someone ASAP and I went on my merry little way after starting my second block class.

On my way out the door, the doctor's office called and told me they wanted me for bloodwork (beta, Rh and blood type, etc) today and tomorrow they'll repeat the beta to see the change. I'll also have an ultrasound tomorrow. I doubt we'll hear the heartbeat, I almost hope we won't since Jennings won't be able to be there, but at least I get to meet my little one tomorrow.

As much as I wish I knew the moral of this story, I don't yet. Wait til tomorrow and maybe I'll have something for you.

I came home today and took a three hour nap. I don't now how I slept that long, but it was good.

1 comment:

  1. oh no! well i am praying that those numbers are good! I can't imagine how scary that would be!!!

    ReplyDelete